Business and Commerce

Landscape design colors

Landscape design colors

Armistead Browning, Jr. papers, 1956-1987 (University of Delaware): Born in 1938, Armistead Willis Browning, Jr., was a landscape architect, environmentalist and teacher who dedicated his life to environmental preservation and education. Browning was the founder of Turtle Creek Designs, a landscape design consulting firm in Pocopson, Pennsylvania. The firm did residential work and large-scale environmental studies. Browning worked extensively with the Brandywine Conservancy in Chadds Ford and Pocopson Township, producing landmark studies of the scenic, historical, and natural features of the Brandywine Valley Region. From 1977 until his death in 1987, Browning taught courses in landscape design and native plant horticulture at the University of Delaware, and was a member of the faculty of Longwood Gardens. His weekly column, “Notes from Turtle Creek,” appeared in The Kennett Paper. He was also an accomplished and prolific photographer of the landscape and the natural world. The Armistead Browning, Jr. papers contain the professional, teaching, and business records of a notable landscape architect and environmentalist, created over a period of twenty years. The papers chronicle Browning’s experience at three architectural firms, two main centers of education, and with numerous independent projects, symposia, and workshops. The collection provides a unique look into the activities of a prolific architect, providing insight into planning processes, design, and documentation. In addition, it reveals subjects of personal interest that greatly impacted Browning’s professional life.
•  Read the blog post about this collection »
•  Explore the Armistead Browning papers using the collection guide »

Judging Roses

Judging Roses

Conard-Pyle Co. records (University of Delaware):  The Conard-Pyle Company of West Grove, Pennsylvania is “one of the nation’s premier horticultural enterprises” (Thomas, p. 1).  Conard-Pyle was the “first nursery to advertise extensively in magazines and launch a mail-order campaign” (Quillman, p. 42).  In fact, “Conard-Pyle has a century of firsts.  It was one of the first on the east coast to become a container production nursery.  It introduced the first climbing rose (Mme. Gregoire Staechelin –1928) to win “The Gold Medal of Bagatelle” award in Paris.  It also introduced the first rose suited to both garden and greenhouse (Sonia) and the first roses (Sunblaze) to fit between the traditional floribundas and the true miniature roses” (Conard-Pyle, p. 7).  Conard-Pyle is best known for its famed Star Roses, most notably the world-famous Peace Rose.  The Peace Rose was “provided to delegates from around the world as they met in San Francisco on April 25, 1945, to form the United Nations” (Thomas p.1).  The Conard-Pyle Company records contain material relating to the business activities of an influential and successful nursery company, created over a period of just over one hundred years. The papers chronicle Conard-Pyle’s evolution from a small-scale retail business to an influential wholesaler, as well as the financial, legal, and marketing concerns of a major nursery company. The collection provides a unique look at the activities of a large-scale nursery company, providing insight into the processes of plant breeding, patenting, marketing and sales. In addition, the collection serves as a window to the nursery industry as a whole, due to significant correspondence with other nurseries and material relating to professional organizations and societies within the nursery community.
•  Read the blog post about this collection »
•  Explore the Conard-Pyle records using the collection guide »

Elevated Train

Elevated Train

Dr. Harold E. Cox transportation collection (Historical Society of Pennsylvania):  Prior to the 1870s, Philadelphia’s public transportation system consisted of dozens of independently owned and operated horse drawn streetcar lines. In the 1880s and 1890s steps were taken toward unification and electrification, a goal finally achieved in 1902 with the founding of Philadelphia Rapid Transit Company (PRT). PRT constructed subway and elevated train lines, and managed public transportation until 1940, when the Philadelphia Transportation Company (PTC) was established, absorbing PRT and all of its functions. The Dr. Harold E. Cox transportation collection is composed primarily of records from PTC and PRT, as well as PRT’s subsidiary and predecessor rail lines. This collection dates from 1803 to 1967, with the bulk of materials ranging from 1858 to 1960. It consists of financial records, legal records, correspondence, administrative records, ephemera, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, atlases, and route maps and diagrams. The collection documents the growth and development of public transportation in Philadelphia, with a focus on the business activities and legal affairs of the PTC and PRT.
•  Read the blog post about this collection »
•  Explore the Dr. Harold E. Cox transportation collection using the collection guide »

From the E.R. Fenimore Johnson photographs at the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia

Proposed Logo for the Fenjohn Underwater Equipment Company

Eldridge Reeves Fenimore Johnson papers, 1929-1975 (Academy of Natural Sciences, Philadelphia):  Eldridge Reeves Fenimore Johnson, 1899-1986, was a pioneer in the development of underwater photography and was also an explorer, yachtsman and researcher. His interests in underwater photography developed during World War II when he enlisted in Naval Research and worked with underwater demolition and photography. He created his own company, Fenjohn Underwater Equipment Company and patented equipment inventions. The E.R. Fenimore Johnson photographs, 1929-1970, is a rich collection of images ranging from underwater photography, equipment and tests; natural history; yachting; and exploration. This collection consists of subject files, test photographs, motion picture films, index card guides to the motion pictures, index card guides to the use of the images, photograph albums of an expedition to Matto Grosso in Brazil, lantern slides, and negatives. Researchers interested in E.R. Fenimore Johnson, the development of underwater photography, marine life, expeditions, the Matto Grosso in Brazil, and Andros Island will find this collection to be a rich visual resource.
Read the blog post about this collection »
Explore the Eldridge Reeves Fenimore Johnson papers using the collection guide »

Frank Hartman Radium Services

Frank Hartman Radium Services

Frank Hartman papers, 1904-1977 (College of Physicians):  Frank Janczak Hartman (1893-1986) was a radium specialist and consultant who worked as a “radium hound,” searching for pieces lost by area hospitals and industry until his retirement in 1956. The Frank J. Hartman papers provide an insightful view into the changes atomic energy brought to society. Hartman, who owned two companies dealing with radium, clearly saw the product’s value, but he also recognized the potential dangers and the damage that could result from the improper usage, storage and disposal of these materials. This collection will be extremely valuable to a researcher interested in Frank J. Hartman; the radium industry, sales and recovery; atomic energy in Canada; the history of the discovery of radium and the Curie family; and how atomic energy affected the United States.
•  Read the blog post about this collection »
•  Explore the Frank Hartman papers using the collection guide »

From the George Sproule papers

George Sproule

George Sproule papers, 1784-1947, Bulk: 1884-1944 (Independence Seaport Museum):  George F. Sproule (1867-1928), known as an authority on the Port of Philadelphia, served on the Board of Port Wardens of Philadelphia from 1884 to 1907, as Secretary of the Board of Commissioners of Navigation for the Delaware River from 1907 to 1920, and as Director of Wharves, Docks and Ferries from 1920 to 1928. His son, Samuel Jackson Sproule served as Port Representative for the United Sates Shipping Administration, Recruitment and Manning Organization during World War II. This collection documents the professional life of George F. Sproule in the Philadelphia shipping and maritime industry in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, the history of the Port of Philadelphia, and the World War II career of his son. The collection includes clippings, correspondence, appointment books, a scrapbook, business records, photographs, ephemera, and writings. The collection also includes a large number of maritime-related newspaper clipping volumes dating from 1891 to 1928.
•  Explore the George Sproule records using the collection guide »

Hatfield and Hibernia Park records, 1743-1975 (Chester County Archives):  The County of Chester owns the Hatfield and Hibernia estates, both of which played parts in the early iron industry in Pennsylvania. The families who lived on those estates (the Hatfields, Downings, Brookes and Swaynes, to name only a few) were involved with other ventures such as a general store and a convalescence home. The Hatfield and Hibernia Park records document the families, businesses, and property transfers of the families living in the Hatfield and Hibernia homes from the 1700s to the 1900s. Researchers interested in land and property records, iron works, 19th century general stores, and rest homes will find this collection to be extremely valuable.
•  Explore the Hatfield and Hibernia Park records using the collection guide »

Job Orders

Job Orders

Independence Seaport collection on the New York Shipbuilding Corporation, 1919-1964 (Independence Seaport Museum):  The New York Shipbuilding Corporation (NYS) was founded in 1899 by Henry G. Morse (1850-1903), who served as the company’s first president. The company held significant government contracts during both World Wars, and built ships for the United States Navy, Coast Guard, and Emergency Fleet Corporation as well as the Department of Commerce and Labor. During the 1930s, the company built luxury ocean liners, such as the Manhattan and the Washington for the United States Lines, and also built ships for Pennsylvania Railroad, Reading Railroad, Standard Oil and American Export Lines. During its tenure, the New York Shipbuilding Corporation constructed over 500 ships. NYS completed its last ship in 1967 and went out of business shortly thereafter. The collection houses small caches of documentation relating to the history and operations of the New York Shipbuilding Corporation from 1919 to 1964. Of note, is an oversized scrapbook of newspaper clippings about the New York Shipbuilding Corporation and files containing information on specific ships. Ships covered are: The Nuclear Ship Savannah, USS Arkansas, USS Camden, USS Kitty Hawk, USS Truxtun and the USS Utah.
•  Explore the ISM collection on the New York Shipbuilding Corporation using the collection guide »


John E. Hand and Sons Co.

John E. Hand and Sons Co.

John E. Hand & Sons Co. records, 1865-2002, undated (Independence Seaport Museum): The John E. Hand & Sons Company was founded in Philadelphia in 1873. The Hand Company built navigational equipment for all varieties of floating vessels, and operated a chain of retail outlets with “service stations” in numerous port cities, including Baltimore and New Orleans, until 1956. Service stations sold Hand instruments as well as other nautical paraphernalia and provided compass adjusting services. The collection documents the business activities of the John E. Hand & Sons Company from its institution in 1873 to 1997, when the company was sold. The collection boasts a wide breadth of material that includes legal documents, financial records, patents, correspondence, contracts, reports, catalogs and other ephemera, photographs, and engineering plans. Together, the records provide a thorough account of the firm’s operations.
•  Explore the John E. Hand & Sons Company records using the collection guide »

Detailed Estimate

Detailed Estimate

John H. Mathis Company records, 1919-1965 (Independence Seaport Museum):  Founded in 1870 by John H. Mathis and W.W. Reynolds, by the time of its 1913 incorporation, the John H. Mathis Company was an already established and well-represented shipbuilding firm in the maritime world. Located at Point and Erie Streets in Camden, New Jersey, the Mathis Company built and repaired yachts, river steamers, tugs, barges, car floats, ships and other varieties of floating vessels for private individuals and businesses as well as the Navy and Coast Guard. During World Wars I and II a variety of ships were built, including minesweepers, transports, Coast Guard Cutters, and ferries. Of note, was the presidential yacht Sequoia, which was built by Mathis Yacht Building Company as a separate but allied venture at the Mathis shipyard in 1910. The Mathis Shipyard closed in 1961. The Mathis Shipyard was later used by the firm Camden Ship Repair. The John H. Mathis Company records, which date from 1919 to 1987, consists of business records, correspondence, photographs, measured drawings, design plans, and other records documenting the work of the shipbuilding firm. The majority of the material dates from 1930 to 1960. The collection is divided into four series: “Shipbuilding Records,” “Photographs,” “Index” and “Measured Drawings.”
•  Read the blog post about this collection »
•  Explore the John H. Mathis Company records using the collection guide »

John Wanamaker collection, 1827-1987 (Historical Society of Pennsylvania): John Wanamaker (1838-1922) was a well-known merchant, entrepreneur, and lifelong resident of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He was active in the city’s religious, political, and philanthropic areas, founded several Presbyterian churches and Sunday schools, and served as Postmaster General under President Benjamin Harrison from 1889 to 1893. He opened his first Philadelphia clothing store, Oak Hall, with partner Nathan Brown in 1861, and founded John Wanamaker and Co. several years later in 1869. In 1876, they opened “A New Kind of Store” known as the Grand Depot at 13th and Market Streets. This store later became the flagship store, which eventually branched out into central and southeastern Pennsylvania. Satellite stores were also established in New Jersey, Delaware, and New York City. Wanamaker was at the forefront in many areas in retailing including merchandising, employee relations and advertising. His sons Thomas B. Wanamaker and L. Rodman Wanamaker were also active in the business. Thomas ran John Wanamaker and Co. in Philadelphia and Rodman took over the New York store operations in 1906. This rich and extensive collection, which is arranged into five series and spans over one hundred and fifty years, details the history of Wanamaker’s store in Philadelphia and its influence as a major city retailer in during the 19th and 20th centuries. There is also material in the collection that documents Wanamaker’s involvement and impact not only on merchandising and related fields but also on issues of social reform and cultural attitudes. Throughout the collection, materials are generally arranged in chronological order; however, the loose photographs in Series four are arranged by subject and size. The collection includes correspondence, financial volumes, scrapbooks, albums, estate and legal papers, store records, publications, photographs, financial files, sales portfolios, sound recordings, glass negatives, and deeds.

Funeral home records

Funeral home records

Joseph B. Smith and Son Funeral Directors records, 1872-1946 (Chester County Historical Society):  The Joseph B. Smith and Sons Funeral Home in West Chester, Pennsylvania was established in 1870, when Joseph B. Smith purchased the existing Hoffman Undertaking and Furniture Business. Smith’s firm, which was in business until 1994, was owned and operated by four successive generations of Smith men: Joseph B. Smith; his son, William B. Smith; his grandson, Ashton B.T. Smith; and his great-grandson, Ashton B.T. Smith, Jr. It ranked as one of the oldest funeral home businesses in Chester County. The Joseph B. Smith and Son Funeral Directors records houses the records produced by that funeral home from 1876 to 1946. In addition, there is a small cache of Smith family papers dating from 1883 to 1975. The bulk of the collection is made up of funeral home records. Included in the funeral home records are account books, funeral registries, bills, funeral home ephemera, and undertaker and coroner licenses. The Smith family papers section of the collection has very little to do with the business of the funeral home. The Smith family papers contain booklets and a map relating to Chester County; materials and newspaper clippings on the Church of the Holy Trinity; undated photocopied photos; memorabilia from the 1901 Inaugural Ball for President McKinley; personal correspondence; and newspaper clippings, souvenirs and memorabilia from various West Chester anniversary celebrations; and framed photos.
•  Explore the Joseph B. Smith and Sons Funeral Directors records using the collection guide »

Nursery sales from Spring 1888

Nursery sales from Spring 1888

Joseph W. Thomas and Sons Nursery (Wayne, Pa.) records, 1884-1990 (Chester County Historical Society):  The Joseph W. Thomas and Sons Nursery in Chester County was one of the oldest and longest running horticultural enterprises in the state of Pennsylvania. It operated from 1853 to 1990, and was owned by three successive generations of Thomas’. The Thomas nursery actually began in 1828 as a small farm and orchard called “Maple Farm,” which was owned by Charles and Ruth Thomas. It was their son, Joseph Williams Thomas, who formally established the nursery on a small portion of the farm around 1853. He named his burgeoning business, Chester Valley Nursery. Later, he changed the company’s name to Joseph W. Thomas and Company. Around 1888, Joseph’s sons, Edwin and Charles Lincoln, joined him in business and the name of the firm was changed once more to Joseph W. Thomas and Sons, reflecting the new partnership. The Joseph W. Thomas and Sons Nursery records contains documents created by that business from 1884 to 1993. Researchers will find financial records; general business records, especially plant order books; and a small collection of horticultural publications. There is also a very small portion of general records that relate to the nursery or nursery profession but were not created by the business such as, articles relating to the history of the nursery, a completed nursery order form from 1896, nursery stationary and printed ephemera, records of hours worked, and two grange booklets. The bulk of the collection is made up of business records, and in particular client orders.
•  Read the blog post about this collection »
•  Explore the Joseph W. Thomas and Sons Nursery records using the collection guide »

Leary and Company (Leary’s Bookstore) archives, 1840s-1969 (Temple University Libraries Special Collections Research Center): William A. Leary, was a small-time book seller in 1836 when he journeyed to Philadelphia to establish a sidewalk book stall on North Second Street. As business prospered, Leary moved to several different locations, finally settling at 138 North Second Street which was right next door to the Camel Tavern, a landmark in Philadelphia. Leary’s Book Store specialized in selling inexpensive, second—hand books. Because of its large inventory and cheap prices, Leary’s developed a national reputation. In addition to selling and buying books, Leary expanded his base of operations by venturing into the publishing business in the 1850s. William A. Leary, Jr. took over the book store in 1865. Stuart and Charles Mann purchased the store from the Leary Estate in 1876. Under the Stuart’s management, Leary’s became one of the largest old book dealers in the world. As more people moved to and shopped in the suburbs, Leary’s customer base declined. Leary’s went out of business on November 20, 1968. The Leary collection is divided into three series, Records, Bound Volumes/Ledgers, and Posters and Paintings. The over-all time frame of the collection spans from the 1840s to 1969.
•  Explore the Leary and Company records using the collection guide »

Lubin's Cineograph

Lubin's Cineograph

Lubin Film Company records, 1881-1984 (Free Library of Philadelphia):  Siegmund Lubin (1851-1923) founded the Lubin Manufacturing Company in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, which, from 1895 to just before its collapse in 1916, grew to be one of the largest motion picture production companies in the world. His movie making empire started with the purchase of one film projector in 1895. Before long, it included a chain of movie theaters, multiple state-of-the-art production studios across the United States, hundreds of employees, numerous patents for recording and projecting equipment, and international movie distribution. Lubin’s logo and motto, “Clear As A Bell,” referred to the superior quality of his motion picture images. The Lubin Manufacturing Company records, 1881-2006, contains photographs, advertisements, business records, publicity materials, and artifacts documenting Siegmund Lubin’s short-lived career as one of America’s most successful film producers during the silent film era. While the collection does not include any full-length Lubin films, it is the largest collection of Lubin textual material in the world.
•   Read the blog post about this collection »
•   Explore the Lubin Film Company records using the collection guide »

Mutual Assurance Company (Green Tree) records, 1784-1995 (Historical Society of Pennsylvania):  The Mutual Assurance Company for Insuring Houses from Loss by Fire was organized in Philadelphia in 1784, in order to make fire insurance available to those citizens who wished to have trees in front of their houses. A group of sixty-one men met on July 8, 1784 at the City (or London) Coffee House and agreed to create a new mutual fire insurance company. A Deed of Settlement was adopted and a green tree was selected as a symbol to appear on the company’s policies and fire marks. The company archives of The Mutual Assurance Company, familiarly known as The Green Tree, consist of document cases of about 350 linear feet of financial accounts and receipts, correspondence, histories, cancelled insurance surveys and policies, and miscellaneous material. The papers date from the formation of the company in 1784 to 1995.

Ledger from the Philadelphia Memorial Park records

Ledger from the Philadelphia Memorial Park records

Philadelphia Memorial Park records, 1850-1969 (Chester County Historical Society):  Philadelphia Memorial Park was established in 1929 as an independent burial ground. The graves from at least four inner-city burial grounds were relocated to Philadelphia Memorial Park during the mid-twentieth century:  United American Mechanics Cemetery, administered by the  United American Mechanics and United Daughters of America Cemetery Association; German Lutheran Cemetery; Union Burial Ground; and Belvue Cemetery. This collection contains Philadelphia Memorial Park’s burial records relating to Belvue Cemetery, German Lutheran Cemetery, Union Burial Ground, and United American Mechanics Cemetery. These records were inherited by Philadelphia Memorial Park when the graves were transferred. Included in the collection are account books, burial listings, correspondence, deeds, lot records, minutes, and receipts. The collection also includes ephemera and lot purchase information for Philadelphia Memorial Park. United American Mechanics Cemetery is the best represented of the included burial grounds.
•   Read the blog post about this collection »

Clearance Book

Clearance Book

Red D Line records, 1861-1936 (Independence Seaport Museum):  The Red D Line was the main transportation link between the United States and Venezuela from 1820 to 1936. The line took its trade name from the red D on its white flag, which stood for the line’s founder, John Dallett, a Philadelphia merchant. Dallett travelled to Venezuela in 1823, where he went into business with the influential Venezuelan merchant, John Boulton. Dallett returned to Philadelphia and set up a business shipping cargoes to Boulton, and in 1838 began chartering sailing vessels to carry his merchandise. The Red D Line records house a sampling of business and financial records of the shipping line from 1861 to 1936. There are twelve volumes.
•  Explore the Red D Line records using the collection guide »

Riggs and Brother

Riggs and Brother

Riggs and Brother Company records, 1887-1929 (Independence Seaport Museum): Riggs and Brother, a Philadelphia chronometer and nautical instrument manufacture and import company, was founded in 1818 by William H. C. Riggs. The business records of the company include cash books, invoice books, day books, inventories and correspondence.
•  Explore the Riggs and Brother Company records using the collection guide »

Rosenbach Company lists

Rosenbach Company lists

Rosenbach Company records, 1900s-1965 (Rosenbach Museum and Library): The Rosenbach Company was a Philadelphia firm dealing in rare books and manuscripts, and fine and decorative arts. The company was established by Abraham Simon Wolf (A.S.W.) Rosenbach and his brother Philip H. Rosenbach in 1903. The company, with offices in Philadelphia and New York City, became recognized as one of the country’s preeminent dealers in rare books and literary manuscripts, and A.S.W. Rosenbach is credited with helping build the collections of Harry E. Widener, J.P. Morgan, Henry C. Folger, and Henry E. Huntington. among others. The Rosenbach Company records, 1900s-1965, contains minute books, financial records, catalogs, stock cards and inventories, clippings, scrapbooks, and other materials related to the operation of the Rosenbach Company. The collection is particularly rich in financial and business documents related to the company’s correspondence, sales, purchases, and inventories; some researchers will find value in the extensive collection of newspaper clippings, which provide insight into the celebrity of the Rosenbach brothers and their impact on mid-twentieth century American culture.
•  Explore the Rosenbach Company records using the collection guide »

Business records

Business records

RTC Shipbuilding Co. records, 1934-1965 (Independence Seaport Museum):  In 1940, Leroy M. Robinson (President), George R. Taylor (Vice-president), and John P. Carson (Secretary and Treasurer) formed RTC Shipbuilding Company in Camden, New Jersey. Their initials are the basis for the name of the company. All three men were former executives at J. H. Mathis Company. Subsequent to the death of Robinson and the retirement of Taylor in 1946, Carson became the firm’s president and assumed sole ownership. The RTC Shipbuilding Company records evidence the shipbuilding and repairs conducted by this company from 1934 to 1965. The collection also includes an impressive photographic documentation of the daily work performed on the RTC Shipyard. Heavily involved in ships designed for the Navy in World War II, as well as in building fishing vessels in subsequent years, one of the strengths of this collection lies in the hundreds of records found in the “Shipbuilding records” series. The “Photographs” series is also a strength of the collection, with many images of RTC ships under construction on the worksite and on the water. Additional series, “Business records,” and “Printed materials,” can also be found in this collection.
•  Read the blog post about this collection »
•  Explore the RTC Shipbuilding Co. records using the collection guide »

Rolled plans

Ship plans

Thomas D. Bowes, M.E. Associates records, 1905-1965 (Independence Seaport Museum):  In 1905, Thomas D. Bowes (1883-1965) founded the naval architecture firm of Thomas D. Bowes, M.E., Associates Inc. From 1905 to 1965, the Bowes firm functioned as part of a large network of ship design and building companies along Philadelphia’s Delaware River waterfront, which included the John H. Mathis Company, which built many of Bowes’ designs, and RTC Shipbuilding Company. Bowes designed vessels of all sizes, from small sail boats to 300 foot barges; and for all purposes receiving contracts for leisure, business and military vessels. More specifically, Bowes designed over eighty tugboats, several of Philadelphia’s fireboats and over 300 yachts, which were mostly commuter and houseboat yachts. He also designed and patented the Bowes Drive, an electric device for the reduction of speed between the engine and drive shafts in marine installations. Overall, “Tugboat Tom,” as he was known, designed over 800 vessel plans. The Thomas D. Bowes, M.E., Associates records, 1904-1980, consists of ships’ plans and records created by that naval architecture firm in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Materials in the collection include the business records of Bowes’ firm, design plans and measured drawings of Bowes’ vessels, and some personal papers. There are four series in this collection: “Corporate Records,” “Personal Papers,” “Design Plan records” and “Measured drawings.”
•  Read the blog post about this collection »
•  Explore the Thomas D. Bowes records using the collection guide »

Account book

Account book

Thomas Leiper and family business records, 1771-1947 (Library Company of Philadelphia):  Thomas Leiper (1745-1825) was introduced into the business of tobacco shortly after his arrival in Virginia in 1763, and within several years, moved to Philadelphia where he opened a tobacco shop. During the Revolutionary War, Leiper became the principal tobacco provider in Philadelphia. In 1776, Leiper purchased land in Delaware County that included a mill at a waterfall on the Crum Creek. He established snuff mills and later purchased a stone quarry. The Thomas Leiper and family business records include correspondence, country estate records, and business and financial records of the family’s paper, lumber and word working businesses, quarry business, and tobacco business dating from 1771 to 1947.
Read the blog post about this collection »
Explore the Thomas Leiper and family business records using the collection guide »

Waln family papers, 1759-1888 (Historical Society of Pennsylvania):  The Walns were a family of prominent Quaker merchants in Philadelphia. In 1774, Richard Waln, moved the family to Crosswicks, in Monmouth County, New Jersey, where he purchased “Walnford” and established a flour mill. The Waln family papers document primarily the family’s business activities. Richard Waln (1737-1808) who was engaged in the milling business in Walnford, New Jersey, also was involved with financial concerns in Philadelphia. His nephew Robert (1765-1836) was the director of the Philadelphia Insurance Company from 1804 to 1813. Robert a successful merchant, joined into a partnership with his cousin esse, and traded with England and the West Indies, and later with East India and China. The collection consists largely of correspondence and financial records.

Commissioning the U.S.S. Truxtun

Commissioning the U.S.S. Truxtun

Ward collection of New York Shipbuilding Corporation material, 1919-1967 (Independence Seaport Museum):  The New York Shipbuilding Corporation (NYS) was founded in 1899 by Henry G. Morse (1850-1903), who served as the company’s first president. The company held significant government contracts during both World Wars, and built ships for the United States Navy, Coast Guard, and Emergency Fleet Corporation as well as the Department of Commerce and Labor. During the 1930s, the company built luxury ocean liners, such as the Manhattan and the Washington for the United States Lines, and also built ships for Pennsylvania Railroad, Reading Railroad, Standard Oil and American Export Lines. During its tenure, the New York Shipbuilding Corporation constructed over 500 ships. NYS completed its last ship in 1967 and went out of business shortly thereafter. The bulk of the collection appears to have been work-related materials used by John F. Ward, a New York Shipbuilding employee in the 1950s and 1960s. The collection includes material from 1919 to 1969, with the bulk of the material from the 1950s and 1960s. Much of the material covers technical and engineering aspects of work being performed at the shipyard, but also includes some items that many employees of the shipyard would have received, such as a 1959 “Rules of Safety” manual. The collection contains a number of publications, written histories, and clippings that detail the history of the shipyard at several times throughout its existence.
•  Explore the Ward collection of New York Shipbuilding Corporation material using the collection guide »

Leave a Comment